Muktar Shagaya, NEMA provide relief to Ilorin West/Asa flood victims


Honourable Muktar Tolani Shagaya, the representative for Ilorin West/Asa Federal House Assembly, took a compassionate step on Tuesday by distributing over 1000 units of essential items to victims of the recent flood disaster in Ilorin West/Asa Federal Constituency, Kwara State.
The distribution event, orchestrated by Rep. Shagaya at his constituency office in Ilorin, aimed to alleviate the hardships faced by those affected by the devastating flood.
The relief materials, thoughtfully categorized into social relief care packs, nutritional packs, livelihood items, and building materials, were carefully distributed to various parts of the constituency.

Basheer Luqman, the Special Adviser on Media and Publicity, conveyed Rep. Shagaya’s sentiments, emphasizing the inclusivity of items such as blankets, cartons of noodles, bags of rice, beans, gari, cements, and roofing materials.

He acknowledged that, despite the government’s relief efforts, nothing can fully compensate for the losses incurred due to the flood.

The General Secretary of Kwara State All Progressives Congress, Alhaji Mustapha Ishowo, extended heartfelt appreciation to Hon. Shagaya for empathizing with the community during this challenging period.
He recounted the widespread damage experienced in homes, farmlands, and businesses within the constituency.

Officials from the Kwara State Emergency Management Agency (SEMA) collaborated with the National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA) to conduct a thorough needs assessment in the affected communities.

They assured that the relief materials were distributed with precision, monitored to ensure they reached those most in need.
Mrs. Amudalat Abdulwasiu, representing the beneficiaries, expressed gratitude for Hon. Muktar Shagaya’s benevolent efforts. Over 1,200 individuals across the two local government areas directly benefited from the distribution of relief materials, offering a beacon of hope to those affected by the flood disaster in Ilorin West/Asa Federal Constituency.